Forum Navigation
Please or Register to create posts and topics.

LCD Monitors for the Center MIP

(Original thread started on 02-16-09 by Ron Rollo)

I found a few minutes to pull apart the 15.6" Acer Wide Screen LCD (reconditioned) that I ordered for $79.00. I am happy to say that it is going to work like a champ!. When the LCD is set standing on it's end, the maximum horizontal LCD viewing area is 7.875" after the image is stretch. This gives me at least .125" on either side of the standby gauge holes cut out of the aluminum MIP face plate. The other neat thing about this "take apart process" is that I found that the monitor buttons (On/Off etc..) are on a ribbon and can be relocated to the back of the LCD. (This is my first time taking one of these apart so I may be telling some of you things you already know.)

The really good news is that I do not have to redraw the MIP and move the standby gauges closer to each other, and I have plenty of room for the two 15" LCD on both sides. This may not be the perfect LCD, but it is going to work!

Outside: 8.5" x 14.375" (8 1/2" x 14 3/8")

Inside: 7.75 x 13.625" (7 3/4" x 13 5/8")

Ron 608

Ron 609

The model number to this Acer is X163WbWM 15.6". Research from our CAD drawings indicate that this Acer will fit under the glare shield with about a half inch to spare.

(Posted by Mark L. on 02-17-09)

Confirmed, the KDS 15.6" widescreen has exactly the same dimensions as the Acer 15.6" I tore it apart tonight and measured.

(Posted by Kris Stow on 01-25-11)

I was looking around for the 15.6" Wideview LED/LCD center monitor for the MIP and found this:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6089023&CatId=5469

I-Inc IK161ABB 16" Widescreen LED Back lit Monitor:

79.00$ Not bad.

(Posted by Eric Williams on 01-25-11)

Hi Kris. I just bought two of these from Tigerdirect for my build. I will be using them for the PFD/MFD's as I'm making a slightly nonstandard cockpit.